AUTUMN UPDATE

November already! Woe! I hope everyone is enjoying some of the beautiful autumn weather/scenes, it’s definitely my fave time of year, so beautifully colourful…and a great excuse to get new boots!

Things with the project seem to have really taken off well, brill to see and amazing how kind everyone is being to help out, really touching!

I’m so sorry to have to cancel the planned Cardiff stitching session which Sian at St Fagan’s kindly rented a room out for and everything – so sorry to let everyone down. Sadly, I have been unable to get the time off work to attend it. I do hope I haven’t inconvenienced everyone too much; perhaps we can plan for another time? It would really be super to get some groups going and bring in the social element to stitching, after all, I don’t know about others, but I find when my mood lowers isolation can feel like the best option, but potentially be the worst…!!

BIG THINGS ON THE TO DO LIST ARE:-

Work out size of fabric needed for John Lewis who have kindly agreed to donate it!

Find these poles – even upcycling old broom handles might work?!!

Continue to recruit new volunteers – the more the better, so any posters people can put up or awareness we can get through word of mouth/adverts the better

Look into TWITTER – it’s been suggested as a great ‘tool’ – any assistance would be welcomed!

Finally, a big change was from the MH Foundation. I panicked and potentially catastrophized a bit (!!) thinking the worst (i.e. they were ‘dropping us’) but was pleasantly surprised. I had a lovely chat to Jo from the foundation on Wed and she told me that the MH awareness week theme had been altered from relationships (Which will run as a theme in October now instead) to Mindfulness.

I think it’s quite apt as doing craft, such as cross stitch, can help people engage mindfully and so much research links mindfulness and mental health – perfect! Again though, I do want to apologise for any inconvenience this might have caused.

I do hope everyone is well and finding plenty of happiness in life,

Best wishes and kind regards, do keep in touch and let us know if you require any support with this project (Maybe regarding the written piece or uncertainty around themes) , the facebook group is such a friendly forum, so please do get in touch! Look forward to seeing more squares soon, HAVE A GREAT DAY!

J

Leave a Reply

