The only person who can make you feel inferior…

Apparently is yourself, so the saying goes. However, I don’t know if others feel it too – but other people seem to have a good crack at helping me, on my way! I am riddled with self criticism, I am never good enough, I always could have done better, I always should have listened to x or asked for their help or left it to them…these are my thoughts.

STOP!

That’s right = would I say these things to other people?

Or would I cheerlead them – whole heartedly – by saying:- there best is good enough, they don’t need to be perfect, they are good enough, who is fit to judge us? we only need our own approval…..?

I found myself critiscing my stitching/self/attempts at organisation, amongst other things, today. I found myself in a negative loop of ‘never good enough/mistakes’. I wished I had asked my mum to sew the border on my pieces, I wish I was a better/neater stitcher, I wished I had the same skills/patience and kind heart that my sister does, I wished I hadn’t started this project as I fear peoples criticism on myself and others with potentially low self esteem…

STOP

EVERY ONE WHO CONTRIBUTES TO SOS IS AMAZING

EVERY ONE’S PIECE IS AMAZING IN ITS OWN RIGHT

ITS NOT A COMPETITON, WE DO NOT NEED TO COMPARE – AND WHAT WOULD BE THE POINT?

IF ONE PERSON GETS ONE POSITIVE THING FROM SOS – ITS WORTHWHILE

PEOPLE HAVE BEEN AMAZING AT CONTRIBUTING AND REPORTING POSITIVITY

I AM NOT PERFECT – NO ONE IS – NO ONE NEEDS TO BE EITHER

Which brings me to another point, I do often wonder, who is fit to ‘judge’? Who decides what is good or bad? Who has this power? It could be personal to each individual, perhaps you’ve got certain people in your life who you would ‘jump into a flame’ if they approved of it/advocated it, then other people you wouldnt even listen 100% to. You may have different people for different things – i.e. a friend who you value style advice for, a family member who you value driving directions from, a teacher who you value skills from…Sadly, many people who are deemed ‘brilliant’ only get ‘awarded’ this status after their deaths… Picasso, van gogh, musicans…to mention a few – YET – even though they may have been laughed at/not appreciated at the time, their works remain timeless and adored by many. Someone may well deem an artist ‘rubbish’ – i.e Picasso didn’t get the anatomy ‘right’ or Tracey Emlin cant make a bed… but others  may look on and say ‘wow’ or shell out cash for it… Ok, this may be a silly comparison, but I guess, to me it rings true – because sometimes we should be less hard on ourselves and just reward ourselves for our attempts – maybe they aren’t perfect, maybe someone else could’ve done it (better/quicker/different), maybe we could have done it differently – but they are our own, and that’s pretty amazing I think! We can learn from our mistakes, everyone makes them, in fact, I personally learn so much from them, I think i’ll make a few more – any one else join me?

Interesting article below which seemed relevant:-

https://www.psychologies.co.uk/bounce-back-rejection

2 responses to “The only person who can make you feel inferior…

  1. Annalise

    I wish there was a ‘like’ button for this … spot on … and I, for one, are so glad you began this wonderful project. You yourself, Natalie, had the inspiration to not only begin, but inspire and encourage many others to join you … and that deserves so much admiration, not critisism! Believe that you are amazing … as is everyone who has contributed in any way to SOS …

Leave a Reply

